Handel this…

09Apr11

(23 February 1685 – 14 April 1759) 

G.F. Handel

1742, Dublin. Fishamble Street, the oratorio “Messiah” is first performed (Neal’s Musick Hall).  Hallelujah!! And on its anniversary, Wednesday, Laurie and I will be on Fishamble street to celebrate at a performance of the Messiah (in the street) with like-minded Dubliners.  I hope they’ll be selling Handel T-shirts (XL). I hope I don’t have to sing.

Later….

It was wonderful, despite the cold wind (we are in Dublin after all) and the choir showed fortitude as did the audience of about 1000. The original performance was inside a music hall  and the only wind there was blown into some oboes.  Also, the audience on the original day wore evening wear and powdered wigs. With the wind whipping around outside, I expected to see some hairpieces flying through the air. Guess it was a superglue day.

Next year I’ll wear thermals. Alleluia! 

Forgot to bring my camera, alas. 

